It is currently Wed Apr 30, 2025 10:24 pm

RUNNING WITH RIFLES Multiplayer

test

Game servers 52 List provided by EpocDotFr | Players online 62


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 9:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 2856
It actually works so that when you give it a filename, it looks for it from the resource dictionary that is currently loaded in the server.

By default, when you launch a server, it'll load the previously loaded map (and overlays), and in most cases it would mean that vanilla package is loaded, thus referring to start_classic.php will find the file from vanilla/scripts.

As you have a zombie package, I assume there's a map as well there? You can change into it on the console with a command such as change_map zombie/maps/somemap. After that, any filenames found in the zombie package will be available and on nameclashes it'll override any vanilla files. So if you've got start_classic.php in zombie/scripts, it should be run this time by the same command. You can just use a different name for the script there as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:26 pm
Posts: 10
Okey! I came to the conclusion that I'm way over my head in this project. But would it be possible to just force an overlay in to the server instead of running it from quick mode? Like if I download a mod, put it in overlay and make a server running out of it. The way I've been doing it now is that I tried to implement the overlay mod in to the server by changing map settings, making my own server start and settings php and so on. I've also set the path to the overlay mod in the start php but it won't change a thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 10:39 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 2856
Martan wrote:
Okey! I came to the conclusion that I'm way over my head in this project. But would it be possible to just force an overlay in to the server instead of running it from quick mode? Like if I download a mod, put it in overlay and make a server running out of it. The way I've been doing it now is that I tried to implement the overlay mod into the server by changing map settings, making my own server start and settings php and so on. I've also set the path to the overlay mod in the start php but it won't change a thing.

Ok, let's back up a bit. Do you have a zombie package or a zombie overlay? Those two are different things. A package is a container for a map or many maps, and additionally any other resources. Overlay is something that is loaded on top of a package.

If you don't actually have a zombie package (and a specific map) but a zombie overlay (designed to be run on any vanilla map), then it needs to be done a bit differently, but the basic idea is the same.

Normally on a server, you'd use the named pipes, and you could do it exactly like you said. You'd run the server and start a script that would make the server load a map (package) with specific overlays defined in the script. In your case, for some unknown reason, named pipes don't seem to be an option but appears anonymous pipes work, so you can do this but you need that one extra step at start to let the server find the script in the right location.

Ok, now that we are talking about overlays and having to use anonymous pipes method, I'd say you have a few options:

Option a)
- have your customized script be at media/overlays/zombie/scripts/start_classic.php
- launch rwr_server, temporarily load into any map with your overlay using an XML command file called e.g. map1.xml located in your server root folder; run the command in console by calling execute map1.xml
map1.xml:
Code:
<command
   class="change_map"
   map="media/packages/vanilla/maps/map1">
   <overlay path="media/overlays/zombie" />
</command>

- now, the overlay has been loaded, so the server can find the files provided by the overlay; call metagame_selfstart start_classic.php to run the customized script
- the script will, if it's anything like vanilla start_classic.php, pick a new map to start in and use the zombie overlay if its defined in the script to be loaded

Option b)
- have your customized script be at media/packages/vanilla/scripts/start_zombie_classic.php
- launch rwr server, and call metagame_selfstart start_zombie_classic.php

Option c) (this just in, didn't remember this one earlier)
- launch rwr server with command line parameter overlay=media/overlays/zombie
- call metagame_selfstart start_classic.php


If you'd be able to use named pipes on the server, you could just start the script (located practically anywhere in the filesystem) without extra initial step.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:26 pm
Posts: 10
I'm trying to get The Time After overlay to work on servers. viewtopic.php?f=11&t=1906

I've tried option a), b) and c) but I always get the same characters as in vanilla. The overlay should apply new textures, change weapons used and remove guns from the other team. I have also tried them in combination. Running the server with option c), then I call map1.xml and later metagame_selfstart start_zombie.php

The way I launch the server with option c) is via a .bat file that looks like this.
Code:
@ECHO OFF
start rwr_server.exe overlay=media/overlays/TheTimeAfter


Worth mentioning is that I used the invasion start.php and settings.php, could that be a reason as to why it won't work?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 2856
The mod won't directly work with Invasion (or Classic) unless they are adapted to work with each other. The gamemode systems aren't generic in that sense that they could be automatically used for any number of factions, for instance, they've been specifically made to work and tested to be working with vanilla only.

If The Time After comes with adaptation for campaign, then great, everything should be in order for Invasion too as those two are practically same, but as far as I know, it doesn't.

While I don't know exactly how The Time After has been setup, I'd guess that these are the things that would need to be handled for it to work as a campaign / Invasion:
* Vanilla Invasion is configured for 3 factions, but TTA is, I guess, 2 factions? The map settings in the Invasion map rotator would need to be declared without relying on existence of a 3rd faction
* Vanilla Invasion assumes factions to be green.xml, grey.xml and brown.xml; this can be changed by extending the script and making it point to different files instead
* Vanilla Invasion loads items, weapons, vehicles, etc resources from invasion_all_*.xml files (e.g. invasion_all_weapons.xml), so the overlay needs to override these files and declare resources there, or, change the Invasion script so that relevant files are used
* the overlay needs to be added for loading in UserSettings, usually in the starter script


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:26 pm
Posts: 10
Okey. Sounds like I won't be able to do much then. But I've heard rumors about an official zombie survival mode in the future. Is that something you can confirm?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 2856
Martan wrote:
Okey. Sounds like I won't be able to do much then. But I've heard rumors about an official zombie survival mode in the future. Is that something you can confirm?

We do have interest in making one, yes, but it also means we haven't begun working on it yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:26 pm
Posts: 10
Thank you so much for helping me and clearing this up. I understand that this must have been confusing for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group