RUNNING WITH RIFLES
http://www.runningwithrifles.com/phpBB3/

Animating
http://www.runningwithrifles.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=2326
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Testpilot14 [ Mon May 11, 2015 10:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Animating

I've read that animations are made through a 3d model app. Does the actual model need to be converted for the 3d modeling app or is it just the skeleton for the soldiers needed?

Author:  The Soldier [ Mon May 11, 2015 11:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Animating

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=363

Has everything you need to know about animating. :) That tool does both the voxel editing (the "3d modeling" in the game, so to speak) and the animations for soldiers. No, no conversions necessary. Although you will need to launch the voxel editor with both a soldier model and the animations file.

Author:  Testpilot14 [ Tue May 12, 2015 10:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Animating

Only issue I'm having is opening the editor to where it allows me to animate or to actually drag areas of the body. I typed in cmd- rwr.editor soldier_a1.xml soldier_animations.xml . The model opened up but didnt allow me to tinker with it and animate it like I thought it would. The Tutorial you sent me to is awesome though. It just didnt tell me how to open and animate a model.

Author:  The Soldier [ Wed May 13, 2015 1:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Animating

Did you hit the number "2" and then click on the "Select & Move" button? Same process you have to go through with the normal voxel editing, it won't let you do anything until you click an option on the left side of the screen. Just when you hit the number "2", it switches to the animation mode.

Author:  Testpilot14 [ Wed May 13, 2015 1:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Animating

The Soldier wrote:
Did you hit the number "2" and then click on the "Select & Move" button? Same process you have to go through with the normal voxel editing, it won't let you do anything until you click an option on the left side of the screen. Just when you hit the number "2", it switches to the animation mode.

OOOHHH. :oops: welp I'm very stupid. Thx again

Author:  Testpilot14 [ Wed May 13, 2015 1:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Animating

I've tried numerous times at animating, I clicked the timeline at each frame and then clicked new animation when done then hit save and I couldnt find the animation in the soldier_animation.xml or in the file of the soldier .xml i used. I tried the same thing but didn't clikc new animation then but still nothing. I have no clue where I should be looking for the animation and or possibly I am not saving correctly.

Author:  The Soldier [ Wed May 13, 2015 8:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Animating

When you edit an animation, it overwrites the animation that you were editing unless you press create new animation - which starts you from scratch, which is usually a lot harder. Try not to use the entire "soldier_animations.xml" - it's just too large and unwieldy to be workable. Here's my layout of the soldier_animations file (which I've renamed to "b.xml" to simplify the command prompt message):
Code:
<animations>
    <animation loop="0" end="1.140000" speed="0.500000" comment="reloading, flip left, revolver">
        <frame time="0.000000">
            <position x="-0.995668" y="55.551552" z="0.164213" />
            <position x="-0.654966" y="48.573368" z="0.598787" />
            <position x="-6.517905" y="45.624840" z="4.576976" />
            <position x="5.190133" y="45.112663" z="-2.849375" />
            <position x="-6.021244" y="44.230759" z="12.450706" />
            <position x="8.693733" y="38.104336" z="-4.461673" />
            <position x="-6.021244" y="44.230759" z="19.488283" />
            <position x="9.725967" y="31.149961" z="-5.217430" />
            <position x="-1.077580" y="35.322517" z="0.874707" />
            <position x="-5.124651" y="28.351248" z="3.696151" />
            <position x="3.416056" y="28.409811" z="-1.517928" />
            <position x="-8.219771" y="13.917140" z="6.340977" />
            <position x="5.728513" y="13.643060" z="-0.495910" />
            <position x="-9.471902" y="1.083165" z="7.948585" />
            <position x="6.962823" y="0.725944" z="-1.286222" />
            <control key="magazine" value="0" />
        </frame>
        </a_whole_bunch_of_frames_later>
    </animation>
</animations>


It's a single animation that makes the process simpler and more direct. Just use the left and right arrow keys to cycle the frames and edit them.

Author:  Testpilot14 [ Wed May 13, 2015 10:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Animating

The Soldier wrote:
When you edit an animation, it overwrites the animation that you were editing unless you press create new animation - which starts you from scratch, which is usually a lot harder. Try not to use the entire "soldier_animations.xml" - it's just too large and unwieldy to be workable. Here's my layout of the soldier_animations file (which I've renamed to "b.xml" to simplify the command prompt message):
Code:
<animations>
    <animation loop="0" end="1.140000" speed="0.500000" comment="reloading, flip left, revolver">
        <frame time="0.000000">
            <position x="-0.995668" y="55.551552" z="0.164213" />
            <position x="-0.654966" y="48.573368" z="0.598787" />
            <position x="-6.517905" y="45.624840" z="4.576976" />
            <position x="5.190133" y="45.112663" z="-2.849375" />
            <position x="-6.021244" y="44.230759" z="12.450706" />
            <position x="8.693733" y="38.104336" z="-4.461673" />
            <position x="-6.021244" y="44.230759" z="19.488283" />
            <position x="9.725967" y="31.149961" z="-5.217430" />
            <position x="-1.077580" y="35.322517" z="0.874707" />
            <position x="-5.124651" y="28.351248" z="3.696151" />
            <position x="3.416056" y="28.409811" z="-1.517928" />
            <position x="-8.219771" y="13.917140" z="6.340977" />
            <position x="5.728513" y="13.643060" z="-0.495910" />
            <position x="-9.471902" y="1.083165" z="7.948585" />
            <position x="6.962823" y="0.725944" z="-1.286222" />
            <control key="magazine" value="0" />
        </frame>
        </a_whole_bunch_of_frames_later>
    </animation>
</animations>


It's a single animation that makes the process simpler and more direct. Just use the left and right arrow keys to cycle the frames and edit them.


Did you copy and paste that animation into a random model so you could edit it?

*EDIT* I got it working, I now understand you have to open an model.xml and then a model.xml that only has the animation code to be able to tinker with it :D

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/