It is currently Sun May 12, 2024 9:46 am

RUNNING WITH RIFLES Multiplayer

test

Game servers 44 List provided by EpocDotFr | Players online 122

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 1:34 pm 

Well hello there. Hail and well met! :)

I'm Techmight and I've got a proposal for all you modders.

I came in here somewhat dubious about how much modding capability this game has. But seeing as there seems to be a pretty healthy amount of content produced relative to the number of game owners, I think I could give this a shot.

I've got 3 questions, but before that: I'm new here. I've played RwR (or at least tested around with the demos) since .60 I believe. However, this is my first time on the forums. This is not my first rodeo regarding modding, tinkering, or getting a team together to accomplish a goal. I'm just new to this particular niche of the Interweb.

The questions stand as follows:

One: What kind of modding tools are necessary to make mods for RwR? If they are unique to RwR, what learning curve do they have?

Two: Have any of you heard of Planetside 1 and Planetside 2? If not, here's a few links with info/vids that should describe it pretty well.

http://www.planetside2.com
http://www.planetside-universe.com

Three: Would anyone be convinced that working on a total conversion (ALL sound, background/maps, textures/models, even the addition of new gameplay/changes to current gameplay, if possible) that centers RwR around the PlanetSide 2 universe to be something that is possible?

I'm convinced that this is possible. RwR supports 3 factions (there are 3 in PS2), there are ways to insert new art into the game through use of overlays, and the gameplay seems to already be moving in the general direction of PS2-which is to say, massive, deadly, and enjoyable fights.

I'd like any and all feedback that I can get. If a few of you are interested in getting this ball rolling, I'll work with you as much as I can while balancing this with real life. :cheers: